Local Section Honors

The Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Member Award

The Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Member Award was established to recognize outstanding leadership and exceptional service to one or more Local Sections which has resulted in significant and demonstrable benefits to Local Section members. The award comes with a $2500 honorarium. Each final nomination must be endorsed by one of the TAPPI Local Sections. Individuals may submit nominations to the appropriate Local Section for their consideration. 

The nominee must be an individual whose outstanding leadership and exceptional service in Local Section activities have resulted in significant and measurable benefits to Section members. The contributions may be through a single activity or through an accruement of longtime efforts. The only exclusion is that no currently serving Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, or member of the section’s Awards Committee can be selected for the Outstanding Local Section Member Award. Recognition for an outgoing Section Chair is provided by a Past Section Chair's plaque. The nominee's contribution should be apparent in specific improvements made in the activities of the Local Sections. Progress and improvement may be evident in such areas as:

  • Management of the Local Section
  • Special Local Section, or District projects or task forces.
  • Public image of the Section, e.g., communications with members and potential members, general public, industry, government or academia.
  • Organizational structure of Section(s) including guidance manual, officer training and operating procedures.
  • Number and involvement of members.
  • Direct services to members and industry, e.g., publications, seminars, home study courses or standards.

All nominations endorsed by the Sections must be submitted before August 1 for the award to be presented in the upcoming calendar year. Individuals may submit suggestions for nominations directly to the appropriate Local Section. If an individual submits a nomination to TAPPI International Headquarters, it will be forwarded to the appropriate Local Section for their consideration to become its final nominee. 

Common nomination form (Fillable PDF Download)

Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Member Award Winners

2017: Glenn Hanson  

2015: Elizabeth Etheridge
2014: Clark Schabo
2013: Daniel M. McGuire
2012: Mark V. Nelson (Lake States)
2010: Scott Frasca (Northest PIMA/Maine-New Hampshire TAPPI)
2009: M. Andrew Easley (Gulf Coast Section)
2008: Lee Coutemanche (Southeastern)
2006: Sandra M. Lenz (Lake States Section)
2004: Douglas J. Muller (Chicago Section)
2003: Jeffrey A. Smith (Gulf Coast Section)

Outstanding Local Section Member Award Winners

2000: Marc A. Toigo (Lake States Section)
1999: Charles H. Power (Southeastern)
1998: John D. McInnes (Lake States)
1998: Ronald I. Lund (Chicago)
1997: G. Gordon Bugg (Gulf Coast)
1996: Harold J. Euson (South Central)
1995: Stanley W. Trosset, Jr. (Ohio)
1995: Ray C. Smith (Virginia-Carolina)
1995: Richard H. Olsen (Chicago/South Central)
1994: Nancy C. McDonnell (Ohio)
1994: Larry I. Graham (Lake States)
1993: William S. Fuller(Pacific)
1993: Gregory C. Landry (Gulf Coast)
1992: Robert C. Whitney (Maine-New Hampshire)
1992: Gerald J. Heitpas (Southwest)
1991: Philip J. Arthur (Empire State)
1991: E. Ray Woodward (Pacific)
1991: Hardev S. Dugal (Lake States)
1991: Kyosti Sarkanen-Posthumous (Pacific)
1991: Michael C. Peters (Ohio)
1990: Rolf Nicolai (Southern California)
1990: Orval L. Rautman (Lake States)
1990: Spencer W. Eachus (Metropolitan)
1990: Donald J. Droesehn (New England)
1989: Paul W. Magnabosco (Virginia-Carolina)
1989: Donald A. Holt (Southern California)
1988: Robert M. Lippincott (Southwest)
1987: Joseph C. Holzinger (New England)
1986: Daniel V. Lent (LSOC)
1986: James E. Beatty (Lake States)
1985: Jeffrey E. Jacobs (Southern California)
1983: John R. Peckham (Lake States)
1982: Francis J. Foley (Empire State)
1981: Michael P. Galen (Southern California)

2017 Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Award

Glenn Hanson of Industrial Kiln & Dryer Group to Receive TAPPI Paul W. Magnabosco Outstanding Local Section Award

Learn More