## E. Clayton Teague, Ph.D. - Brief biography

Clayton Teague is Director of the Federal National Nanotechnology Coordination Office (NNCO), being appointed in April 2003. In this position, Dr. Teague serves as a NIST representative to the National Science and Technology Council, reporting to the Office of Science and Technology Policy. He also is serving as Chair of the American National Standards Institute Technical Advisory Group to the ISO Technical Committee on Nanotechnologies (ISO TC 229). He holds a BS and MS in physics from the Georgia Institute of Technology and a PhD in physics from the University of North Texas.

Beginning with his work on quantum mechanical tunneling in vacuum, he has been working in the some of the fields now known as nanotechnology since 1968. His work has included designing, constructing, and using scanning tunneling microscopes (STMs), atomic force microscopes (AFMs), and interferometers for ultra-high accuracy dimensional metrology of surfaces and micrometer to nanometer-scale features. He has authored or coauthored over 70 papers, holds jointly with colleagues six patents, and has managed a number of large projects in these fields.

Dr. Teague is a member of the American Society for Precision Engineering, has served twice as the Society's president, and is a fellow of the UK Institute of Physics. He served as Editor-in-Chief of the international journal Nanotechnology for ten years and is currently a member of the Editorial Board of the journal. He has been active in the metrology and standards communities for most of his career and has been privileged to receive a number of honors and awards from the government as well as industrial and private organizations for his work. Specifically, he has received the Gold Medal, Silver Medal, and Allen V. Austin Measurement Science Award from the Department of Commerce, the Kilby International Award from the Kilby Awards Foundation, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society for Precision Engineering (2007), a Lifetime Achievement Award from Small Times magazine (2007), a Meritorious Service Award from the American National Standards Institute, and an IR-100 Industrial Research and Development Award.