Slate Announced for Election of 2020 TAPPI Board of Directors


TAPPI Board of Directors Elections Begin December 2019

The 2019 TAPPI Nominating Committee announces the 2020 TAPPI Board Slate. 

For Director:

Andrew Jones

Senior Engineering Fellow

International Paper

Mark Keaten
Director of Mat Operations

Rory Wolf
Business Unit Manager
ITW Pillar Technologies 



Other Nominations:

Per TAPPI’s Bylaws, the Association’s membership has until December 9, 2019 to submit other nominations to the President and CEO of TAPPI, Larry N. Montague at [email protected].  Such nominations must be signed by at least one percent of the voting members, and each voting member may sign for only one such nomination. Each such nomination must be accepted in writing by the nominee.  The name of each such nominee so submitted, signed, and accepted shall be placed on the election ballot. The election ballot shall give voters the options of voting for or against the entire slate or for or against the individual candidate(s) for each position.  Elections will begin December 15, 2019and conclude January 31, 2020.   Contact Mary Beth Cornell, + 1 770-209-7210 or [email protected] with questions.  


The Board of Directors determines the policies and has general charge of the affairs of the Association.  The Board consists of the Chair, Vice Chair, CEO and nine Directors, as provided for under Article VII of the TAPPI Bylaws. The Bylaws provide for the appointment of a nominating committee to nominate three incoming Directors to serve three-year terms.  


The following officers and directors will continue to serve on the Board in 2020:


  • Pete Augustine, Fabio Perini North America, TAPPI Board Chair
  • Jim Haeffele, Essity, TAPPI Board Vice Chair
  • Larry Montague, President and CEO, TAPPI


  • Garnet Bremner, Nalco Water An Ecolab Company
  • Carrie Enos, University of Maine Pulp & Paper Foundation
  • Donald Haag, Packaging Corp. of America
  • Peter Hart, WestRock
  • Kim Nelson, GranBio
  • Matt Szymanski, Green Bay Packaging


In March 2020, the following directors and officers will complete their terms: 


  • Fernando Bertolucci, Suzano
  • James Cooper, Retired

The Nominating Committee members include:



  • Paul Durocher, HS Manufacturing Group, Committee Chair, Past Board Member
  • Bob Feeser, Retired WestRock, Past Board Member
  • Kelly Frey, CP Chemicals representing the TAPPI Divisions, specifically the International Flexible Packaging and Extrusion Division
  • Jim Haeffele, Essity, TAPPI Board Member
  • Glenn Hanson, Metso representing multiple Local Sections
  • Larry Montague, TAPPI, President and CEO
  • Gary Scott, SUNY, Past Board Member

For more information about the TAPPI Board please follow this link: