Celebrating Coating and Graphic Arts, P&PQ and Nonwovens Division-Level Honors

Throughout June, TAPPI is “virtually” celebrating the many achievements of select members honored with Division-level awards. Previously scheduled for presentation at PaperCon 2020, the awards were moved to virtual ceremonies when the COVID-19 pandemic forced the rescheduling of PaperCon to April 25 – 28, 2021.

“TAPPI truly appreciates the dedication and commitment of its many volunteer members,” said TAPPI President and CEO Larry N. Montague, “and after much thought and discussion with Division leaders, the decision was made to celebrate their achievements as quickly and as accessibly to Division members as possible.”

Recognizing scientific achievement, outstanding leadership, professional excellence, and service to our industry and communities, Division awards do more than honor those receiving them—they highlight the qualities valued by TAPPI members.

Upcoming virtual award ceremonies includes:

  • June 17 – Coating and Graphic Arts
  • June 18 - P&PQ/Nonwovens/ IRMC
  • June 30 – Women in Industry Woman of the Year (at the Women’s Summit)/PIMA

For information on attending any or all of the above, please contact TAPPI’s Paper Division Account Manager Tyler Mast at [email protected].

Nominations for 2021 award winners are open until August 1, 2020. Please visit the awards page on tappi.org for more information.

Coating and Graphic Arts Division (June 17, 2020):

Division Technical Award and the Charles W. Englehard Prize


Lyons received his Doctorate degree in Chemical Engineering from Lehigh University, and has more than 36 years of experience in fluid mechanics, paper coating, paper finishing, and mineral pigments. He worked with Westvaco and Repap Technologies, and retired in 2017 from Imerys after 25 years. Lyons is an adjunct professor at University of Maine and Western Michigan University. An active TAPPI member since 1985, Lyons has held various leadership roles in TAPPI including on the Board of Directors.


Division Leadership and Service Award & DuPont Soy Polymers Prize


Kotoye retired from his most recent post as a technical sales leader with Trinseo, and has been a TAPPI Member since 1987. His very active support of the C&GA Division includes years of service on both the Technical Program Committee and the Steering Committee, and he has served as chair for both. He has shared his coating expertise by presenting papers at both PaperCon and the C&GA Conference. 


Coating and Graphics Arts Division and WestRock Outstanding Educator Award


With 27 years’ experience working for polymer suppliers to the paper, paint, and coatings industry, Ottone has made his mark in the area of technical service and development. His previous experience includes stints with Container Corporation of America and St. Regis/Champion Paper. Much of his work and knowledge-sharing have centered on improved binders for printing, writing, and packaging grade coatings; and barrier coatings for paper, packaging, and construction surfaces.


Process and Product Quality Division (June 18, 2020):

Division Leadership and Service Award


During his 26 years at CTS, Czyryca has held overall responsibility for operations in seven of CTS’ 11 programs; he has served in his current role as president for 10 years. Czyryca joined TAPPI in 1994. He is chair of the Quality and Standards Management Committee and has led numerous committees in the P&PQ and Corrugated Divisions. He holds a BS in Physics with an Applied Science minor from Marquette University in Milwaukee and served as an officer in the US Army on both active and reserve duty.


Division Technical Award and Richard S. Hunter Prize


Currently president and CEO of Technidyne Corporation (New Albany, IN) and owner of Technidyne Inc. (Dorval, PQ), Popson’s pulp and paper industry career has spanned almost three decades. He is involved in a variety of committees within TAPPI, ISO, PAPTAC and CIE. Popson is also chair of the US Technical Advisory Group (TAG) to ISO Technical Committee 6 and head of delegation for the US to ISO TC6. He was named a TAPPI Fellow in 2015.

Nonwovens, Engineers, & Technologists (NET) Division (June 18, 2020):

Division Leadership and Service Award


Ramkumar holds a Ph.D. from University of Leeds, UK and is a full professor of technical textiles at Texas Tech University, where his work centers on advanced materials and functional finishing of fibrous materials. Two of his inventions are FiberTect, a toxic chemical decontamination wipe; and Towelie wipe, an oil absorbent. He is an Honorary Fellow of Textile Association (India) and received TAPPI’s Mark Wollingsworth Technical Prize for nonwoven research. Through his column “TexSnips,” he disseminates news on textile R&D around the world.