TAPPI Board of Directors Elections Begin December 2021

The 2021 TAPPI Nominating Committee announces the 2022 TAPPI Board Slate.

The following individuals are presented to the TAPPI Membership as Director candidates for the TAPPI Board.  If elected they will serve from 2022-2024.  Note that Kim Nelson is a current Director who is slated to retire in 2022.  Nelson is presented to fill the Director slot for 2022 then be presented to the Membership as a Vice Chair candidate in 2023.

Larry Anker, Ph.D.
Director, Commercial Operations
Solenis LLC

Michael J. Farrell
Executive Vice President, Mills Division
Graphic Packaging

Kim Nelson
CTO Nanocellulose
GranBio USA

Per TAPPI’s Bylaws, the Association’s membership has until November 15, 2021 to submit other nominations to the President and CEO of TAPPI, Larry N. Montague at [email protected].  Such nominations must be signed by at least one percent of the voting members, and each voting member may sign for only one such nomination. Each such nomination must be accepted in writing by the nominee.  The name of each such nominee so submitted, signed, and accepted shall be placed on the election ballot. The election ballot shall give voters the options of voting for or against the entire slate or for or against the individual candidate(s) for each position.  Elections will begin December 1, 2021 and conclude January 15, 2022.   Contact Mary Beth Cornell, + 1 770-209-7210 or [email protected] with questions. 

The following officers and directors will continue to serve on the Board in 2022:

  • James R. Haeffele, Chair, Essity
  • Donald Haag, Vice Chair, Retired PCA
  • Larry Montague, President and CEO, TAPPI


  • Karyn L. Biasca, University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point
  • Suzanne Blanchet, SBL Inc.
  • David Buchanan, Voith Group, North America
  • Andy Jones, International Paper
  • Mark Keaten, GAF
  • Rory Wolf, ITW Pillar Technologies

In March 2022, the following directors and officers will complete their terms:

  • Peter Hart, WestRock
  • Kim Nelson, GranBio
  • Garnet Bremner, Nalco Water An Ecolab Company

The Nominating Committee members include:

  • Pete Augustine, Chair: President North America, Körber Tissue: immediate past chair of the TAPPI Board
  • Don Haag, Retired, PCA: Vice Chair of the Board
  • Greg Jones, Executive Vice President, Sun Automation; TAPPI Corrugated Division member
  • Micki Meggison; Process Improvement Black Belt, Sappi North America; Northeast PIMA/TAPPI Local Section member
  • Larry Montague, President and CEO, TAPPI
  • Frank Sutman, Retired, Solenis; past Board member

Board of Directors