TAPPI Fellows

Congratulations to our TAPPI Fellow New Inductees

Ambassadors—Role Models—Thought Leaders

The select few who earn the title “TAPPI Fellow” are all these things and more. For more than 50 years, TAPPI Fellows have continued to enrich the industry with their contributions. Only a small percentage of TAPPI members ever achieve this distinction. TAPPI Fellows represent every area of the industry and hail from all over the world, creating a global fellowship of men and women whose professionalism and high personal standards serve as inspiration.

Considerations for selection include longstanding TAPPI Membership, exemplary volunteer leadership, and outstanding contributions to the industry’s knowledge base. The TAPPI Fellow designation is also conferred upon recipients of the Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal or Herman L. Joachim Distinguished Service Awards, and those who have served on TAPPI’s Board of Directors upon completion of their term.

 2022 TAPPI Fellow Inductees

Tim Patterson, Ph.D.


Guenter Schubert, Dr. rer. nat


Douglas Singbeil


Doug Sweet, P.E.
Sweet & Associates, Inc.

Scott Frasca
MiniFIBERS, Inc.

Kim Nelson BOD.jpg

Kim Nelson, Ph.D.
GranBio USA

Gregg Reed, Ph.D.


Seshadri Ramkumar, Ph.D.

Texas Tech University

Garnet Bremner



Lucian Lucia, Ph.D
North Carolina State University