TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Award

TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Award

The Executive of the Year Award was a PIMA Division level award and as of 2016 has now been elevated to an Association Level Award. It is traditionally presented to senior-level executives in the pulp, paper, or converting industries for excellence in management and outstanding contributions to the industry as a whole.

Nominations are due by August 1 of each year for the award to be presented the following calendar year.   

Online Application

The complete selection procedure is fully outlined in our Association Awards Manual. The manual also provides information on additional awards and other forms of recognition.

2024 TAPPI PIMA Executive of the Year Winner

TAPPI, the leading technical association for the worldwide pulp, paper, tissue, packaging and converting industries, today announced that Ken Liu, Chief Executive Officer of ND Paper, has been named TAPPI/PIMA Executive of the Year.

   Learn More 


 Previous Winners

    1966 Frederick S. Crysler, Container Corporation of America
    1967 Howard W. Morgan, Weyerhaeuser Company
    1968 George H. Pringel, The Mead Corporation
    1969 Paul S. Baldwin, Scott Paper Company
    1970 William R. Adams, St. Regis Paper Company
    1971 P.H. Glatfelter III, P.H. Glatfelter Company
    1972 J.W. McSwiney, The Mead Corporation
    1973 William Beckett, Beckett Paper Company
    1974 Karl Bendetsen, Champion International Corp.
    1975 John H. Rich, Garden State Paper Company
    1976 Alexander Calder, Jr., Union Camp Corp.
    1977 Alvin J. Huss, Champion International Corp.
    1978 Lyman A. Beeman, Sr., Finch, Pruyn & Co., Inc.
    1979 Harold H. Holden, Gilman Paper Company
    1980 Ward H. Harrison, Howard Paper Mills, Inc.
    1981 Henry W. Fales, Paper Industry Consultant
    1982 Karl Guest, Stone Container Corporation
    1983 Harold Zigmund, Blandin Paper Company
    1984 Jack E. Chinn, Madison Paper Industries
    1985 Brenton S. Halsey &, Robert C. Williams, James River Corporation
    1986 George W. Mead, Consolidated Papers, Inc.
    1987 Phillip E. Lippincott, Scott Paper Company  
    1988 George S. Petty, Repap Enterprises Corp., Inc.
    1989 Judson Hannigan, Champion International Corp.
    1990 Frank A. Dottori, Tembec, Inc.
    1991 Roger W. Stone, Stone Container Corporation
    1992 Irene W. Meister, American Paper Institute
    1993 Richard J. Carota, Finch, Pruyn & Co., Inc.
    1994 R. Eugene Cartledge, Union Camp Corporation
    1995 Arnold M. Nemirow, Bowater Incorporated 
    1996 Roland Cyrenne, Kruger Inc.

    1997 Patrick F. Brennan, Consolidated Papers Inc.
    1998 Leroy J. "Roy" Barry, Madison Paper Industries
    1999 A.D. "Pete" Correll, Georgia-Pacific Corporation
    2000 Robert C. Buchanan, Fox Valley Corporation
    2001 John Dillon, International Paper
    2002 William B. Howes, Inland Paperboard and Packaging
    2003 John Luke, Mead Westvaco
    2004 James McGinnity, Fox River Fiber Company
    2005 L. Pendleton Siegel, Potlatch Corp.
    2006 Steven R. Rogel, Weyerhaeuser
    2007 Keith Van Scotter, Lincoln Paper & Tissue
    2008 Raymond Royer, Domtar
    2009 Mark Gardner, SAPPI
    2010 Bob Snyder, Orchids Paper
    2011 Mike Jackson, Verso Paper
    2012 Jim Rubright, RockTenn Company
    2013 George F. Martin, NewPage
    2014 Russell P. Wanke, Expera Specialty Solutions
    2015 James Hannan, Georgia Pacific  
    2016 David Scheible, Graphic Packaging
    2017: Mark W. Kowlzan, Packaging Corp of America
    2018: Mark S. Sutton, International Paper
    2019: John D. Williams, Domtar
    2020: Steve Voorhees, Westrock
    2021 Michael P. Doss, Graphic Packaging International
    2022 William “Will” Kress, Green Bay Packaging Inc.
    2023 Annica Bresky, Stora Enso
    2024 Ken Liu, Chief Executive Officer of ND Paper

Inside this Section