TAPPI Announces 2023 Award Winners For the Corrugated Packaging Division

TAPPI is pleased to announce Christopher Krumm, formerly vice president, production with Grief, Inc., now retired; Harrison Talton, R&D Researcher, Fiber Technology, WestRock; and Ed Stuczynksi, Director of Engineering at Menasha Packaging Co, LLC, will be honored during a special awards ceremony at CorrExpo, August 28-30, 2023 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Krumm will be presented with the Corrugated Division’s David A. Carlson Leadership and Service Award. A TAPPI Fellow, he has served on the TAPPI Board of Directors, the Corrugated Packaging Division’s Council (CPC), as well as its Supplier Advisory Council. The award is intended to recognize individuals for outstanding leadership and exceptional service to the Corrugated Packaging Division that has resulted in significant and demonstrable benefits to the Division's members.

Talton is one of TAPPI’s 2023 Young Professional of the Year recipients, an annual honor identifying aspiring young leaders in the global forest products, pulp, paper, tissue, packaging and associated industries. Eligible nominees are age 35 or younger with less than 10 years of industry experience. The award recognizes young professionals who have made significant contributions to the forest products industries in the following areas: leadership, community service, and problem-solving contributions to scientific or engineering projects.

Stuczynksi will be honored as Outgoing Division Chair. A TAPPI member since 2006, Stuczynksi has been an active Division participant serving in a variety of capacities, as well as being involved in the Division’s special events, including SuperCorrExpo, Corrugated Week and CorrExpo. Additionally, he serves on the Executive Committee of the Chicago TAPPI Local Section.

During the Awards ceremony, the Division will also celebrate its 2023 scholarship recipients:

  • Katherine Marie Bodenschatz, University of Cincinnati, the Supplier Advisory Committee Scholarship
  • Alex E. Boyd, Western Michigan University, the Terry S. Paulson Memorial Scholarship and the Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Scholarship
  • Weston Blaine Cregger, North Carolina State University, the Joe Dieffenbacher Engineering Scholarship
  • Abigail Brooke Mendius,  Dunwoody College of Technology, the Corrugated Packaging Division Scholarship
  • Kate Ross,  Miami University, the John O. Telesca Engineering Scholarship

About the Corrugated Packaging Division:

The Corrugated Packaging Division focuses on the manufacture and use of corrugated containers and associated packaging materials and products. It serves as a forum for knowledge sharing in the corrugated packaging industry. The Division is comprised of members who work for manufacturers, converters, suppliers, consulting companies, and others in the industry and produces a number of events designed to further the technical and educational opportunities for all industry and allied professionals.

Inside this Section